The Public Works Department administers the City’s potable water operations through two Divisions: Water Production and Water Services.

Utility Customer Service

Please Click Here:  Utility Customer Service

Lake Decatur Water Level

Water Level as of 11/29/2021 at 7:00 a.m. is 613.7

Normal summer water level is 613.15 to 614.15

Normal winter water level is 611.50 to 612.50

** Measured in feet above mean sea level.  On March 1, 2021 the water level elevations were updated to the North American Vertical Datum (NAVD 88) which is 0.31 feet lower than the previous datum.  This does not affect the water storage capacity of Lake Decatur.

Contact Information

Water Production

1155 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.
Decatur, IL  62521

Keith Alexander, Water Production Manager
Email: kalexander@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 424-2863

Concetta Guyse, Administrative Assistant
Email: cguyse@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 424-2873

Randy Weaver, Water Production Maintenance Supervisor
Email:   rweaver@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 424-2830

Chaundra Smith, Water Production Operations Supervisor
Email:  csmith@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 424-2833

Lake Services

1001 S. Lake Front Rd.
Decatur, IL  62521

Joe Nihiser, Lake Maintenance Supervisor
Email:  jnihiser@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 424-2837

Water Services

2600 N. Jasper St.
Decatur, IL  62526

Randy Miller, Water Services Manager
Email:  rmiller@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 875-5705

Andrew Whitehead, Water Distribution Supervisor
Email:   awhitehead@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 875-5705

Joni Walmsley, Water Metering Supervisor
Email:  jwalmsley@decaturil.gov
Phone: (217) 875-5705

Public Works Administration

Matt Newell, Director of Public Works
Email:  mnewell@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 424-2747

Tara Bachstein, Administrative Assistant
Email:  tbachstein@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 424-2747

Engineering

Paul Caswell, City Engineer
Email:  pcaswell@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 424-2747

Griffin Enyart, Assistant City Engineer
Email:  genyart@decaturil.gov

Don Cisco, Supervisor of Technical Services
Email:  dcisco@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 424-2747

Municipal Services

Dan Mendenall, Municipal Services Manager
Email:  dmendenall@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 875-4820

Jennifer Park, Administrative Assistant
Email:  jpark@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 875-4820

Rick Baker, Municipal Services Operations Supervisor
Email:  rbaker@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 875-4820

Byron Bowman, Municipal Services Operations Supervisor
Email:  bbowman@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 875-4820

R. Chris Bergschneider, Fleet Supervisor
Email:  rbergschneider@decaturil.gov
Phone:  (217) 875-5718