The Civil Service Commission performs various personnel functions for positions and employees covered under Civil Service, to include establishing job descriptions, approving job announcements, establishing eligible and promotional registers for hiring and promotion and holding hearings regarding terminations.

The Civil Service Commission will hold regular meetings at 11:30 a.m. on the first Tuesday of each month in the Human Resources office, located on the 2nd floor of the Decatur Civic Center, #1 Gary K. Anderson Plaza, Decatur, Illinois.  The Commission reserves the right to reschedule or cancel meetings as needed in compliance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

Current Commissioners

Todd Ray, Commission Chair
Greg Spain, Commission Vice Chair
Sheri Hagen, Commissioner
Amy Spry, Commissioner
Tony Wilkins, Commissioner


Civil Service Rules – Revised March 2024