MINUTES OF THE MEETING

OF THE

DECATUR ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS

Wednesday, September 14, 2023, 4:00 P.M. Civic Center Theatre, Decatur Civic Center

I. Call to Order and Determination of a Quorum

The, September 14, 2023, meeting of the Decatur Zoning Board of Appeals was called to order at 4:20 P.M. by Chairman Kim Aukamp who determined a quorum was present.

Members Present:	Kim Aukamp, Chris Brodnicki, Zane Peterson Leslie Risby, Jeff Taylor, Joel Fletcher, Ryan Bolerjack
Members Absent:	None
Staff Present:	Greg Crowe, Joselyn Stewart, Amy Waks, Kasey Wright, Deanna Buck

II. Approval of Minutes: November 10, 2021

It was moved and seconded (Zane Peterson / Jeff Taylor) to approve the minutes of the September 14, 2023, meeting of the Zoning Board of Appeals. Motion carried.

III. New Business

A. Case No. 23-04 Petition of CALEB SEXSON, for a variance in the provisions of the Zoning Ordinance (Ordinance #3512 as amended, Section II) to reduce the required minimum front yard setback from 25 feet to 10 feet to allow for the construction of a storage facility at 300 North Morgan Street, 700 Block of East North Street, and 700 Block of East William Street. Representative: Architectural Expressions, LLP, Lawrence Livergood

Mr. Kasey Wright discussed and presented slides of the site (available for viewing upon request) along with staff's recommendation for approval of the petition based on the staff report distributed to the Zoning Board of Appeals prior to the meeting (staff report is on file and is available for reviewing by request) with the following conditions:

- 1. A demolition permit is required before the demolition of the existing structure.
- 2. A commercial site plan and building drawings must be submitted for review and approval prior to a building permit being issued for the new building.

Lawrence Livergood Representative: Architectural Expressions, LLP was sworn in by Mrs. Deanna Buck.

There was discussion on this item.

Caleb Sexton was sworn in by Mrs. Deanna Buck Mr. Sexton discussed the traffic flow and the use of the building.

There were no objectors present.

It was moved and seconded (Chris Brodnicki/Jeff Taylor) to approve Case. No. 23-04 as recommended by staff.

Upon call of the roll, Commission members Kim Aukamp, Chris Brodnicki, Zane Peterson, Leslie Ribsy, Jeff Taylor, Joel Fletcher, and Ryan Bolerjack voted aye. Chairman Aukamp declared the motion carried.

IV. Appearance of Citizens

No citizen expressed comments.

V. Comments and Information from Commission Members

Kim Aukamp asked about past cases. Amy Waks responded that the cases went in front of a hearing officer. Joselyn Stewart stated that they were approved.

VI. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved and seconded (Jeff Taylor/Chris Brodnicki) to adjourn the meeting.

Upon call of the roll, Commission members Kim Aukamp, Chris Brodnicki, Zane Peterson, Leslie Ribsy, Jeff Taylor, Joel Fletcher, and Ryan Bolerjack voted aye.

Chairman Aukamp declared the meeting adjourned at 4:15 P.M.