

Decatur Fire Department

Smoke Alarm Program

"**Be Alarmed!**" is a fire safety education and smoke alarm installation program administered cooperatively between the Illinois Fire Safety Alliance (IFSA) and the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal (OSFM). The program distributes fire safety education materials and 10-year sealed battery smoke alarms to the Decatur Fire Department for installation in at-risk homes located in Decatur. Upon a homeowner's request, or when a need has been identified, the fire department will deliver the education and install up to three smoke alarms at no cost to the homeowner. Both the educational materials and smoke alarms are provided at no cost as a result of funding from both the IFSA and OSFM.

The program was developed to educate Illinois residents on the dangers of fire in the home and how to prevent fires from occurring in the home, as well as to ensure there are working smoke alarms properly installed in homes. By installing 10-year sealed battery smoke alarms, the power source cannot be removed from the unit and, if properly maintained, will last the life of the device.

The program is for privately-owned homes being used as the primary residence and is not for hotel, rental, lease, contract-for-deed properties, and the like. The program observes the Illinois Smoke Detector Act (425 ILCS 60/) which states: *"it shall be the responsibility of the owner of a structure to supply and install all required detectors. The owner shall be responsible for making reasonable efforts to test and maintain detectors in common stairwells and hallways."*

Program Details:

- Only 10-year sealed lithium battery operated smoke alarms will be installed.
- Smoke alarms are required to be installed in resident homes distributing or giving away the alarms by fire departments is prohibited.
- Smoke alarm informational pamphlets, home fire safety checklists, and home fire escape plans will be provided to the homeowner and residents.
- Educate homeowners and residents on smoke alarm maintenance, fire safety, and fire escape planning when installing smoke alarms.

If you are a homeowner interested in obtaining a smoke alarm, a carbon monoxide alarm or having a home fire safety check, call Fire Station 1 at (217) 424-2811. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The installation can usually be scheduled within a day or two of calling.